Barber Named TOBA Owner Of The Year, Blum Breeder Of The Year – Horse Racing News – Paulick Report

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association hosted its 36th annual National Awards Dinner at Hill ‘n’ Dale at Xalapa in Paris, Ky. on Saturday, September 11. Gary Barber was named TOBA’s National Owner of the Year and Peter Blum was named the National Breeder of the Year. Angie Moore was named National Small Breeder of the Year and Drumette was honored with the Broodmare of the Year title.
The TOBA National Awards, hosted by TVG’s Scott Hazelton, also honored the achievements of Thoroughbred owners and breeders in 18 states and Canada.
Frost or Frippery, who won the 2020 Claiming Crown Iron Horse, was named the National HBPA Claiming Crown Horse of the Year.
Samantha Siegel was honored with the Industry Service Award, presented to a person or entity who has made exceptional contributions to the industry.
Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners received the Cot Campbell Racing Partnership of the Year award.
The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year went to Kaytee Mountain owned by Sue Gallagher. This award was presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred that has accumulated the most points in competition, as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.
In addition, John and Leslie Malone received the Robert N. Clay Award. In partnership with the Equine Land Conservation Resource, this award recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.
A complete list of winners is as follows:
Finalists for National Owner of the Year:
Gary Barber
Klaravich Stables
Spendthrift Farm LLC, MyRaceHorse Stable, Madaket Stables LLC and Starlight Racing
Three Diamonds Farm
National Owner of the Year:
Gary Barber
State Breeders of the Year:
Arkansas: Bill and Mary McDowell
California: George Krikorian
Canada: Ivan Dalos
Canada: Lawrence P. Cordes
Florida: Charlotte Weber/ Live Oak Stud
Indiana: Greg Baer DVM and Deann Baer
Iowa: Allen Poindexter
Kentucky: Godolphin
Louisiana: Tri-Star Racing LLC
Maryland: Angie Moore
Minnesota: Lorie Michaels
New Jersey: John Bowers Jr.
New Mexico: R.D. Hubbard
New York: Twin Creeks Farm
Oregon: Janet and Patrick Cosgrove
Pennsylvania: Blackstone Farm LLC
South Carolina: Franklin Smith Sr.
Texas: James Wessel
Virginia: Lazy Lane Farm
Washington: Darrin L. Paul
National Breeder of the Year:
Peter Blum
National Small Breeder of the Year:
Angie Moore
Broodmare of the Year:
Industry Service Award:
Samantha Siegel
Cot Campbell Racing Partnership of the Year:
Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners
Claiming Crown Horse of the Year:
Frost or Frippery
Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year:
Kaytee Mountain
Robert N. Clay Award:
John and Leslie Malone
New to the Paulick Report? Click here to sign up for our daily email newsletter to keep up on this and other stories happening in the Thoroughbred industry.
Copyright © 2021 Paulick Report.


Book an appointment